Valdosta - Georgia's Azalea City!

Historic Districts

Valdosta has four historic districts on the National Register Districts: Brookwood North, Downtown, Fairview, and Patterson Street. The historic Downtown district is a place to work, shop, dine and now live. Downtown is home to professional offices, retail shops, privately owned eateries, some of the area's oldest churches and lofts and apartments above storefronts. Fairview is a village that predates the city's incorporation. This district is characterized by developments from 1840-1860, Victorian homes from the late 1890s, and developments from the Prairie and Craftsman period (1910-1920). For more information, see Valdosta's Historic Driving Tour.

A Southwest Georgia Metro Center

Valdosta serves as a metro center for smaller surrounding areas in Southwest Georgia. Quitman, in Brooks County has one of the largest National Historic Districts. Hahira, eleven miles north of Valdosta in Lowndes County is the home of the annual River Run Equestrian Ride as well as the Honey Bee Festival. Lake Park, also in Lowndes County 14 miles south of Valdosta is the location of Wild Adventures Theme Park. Located on I-75, Lake Park is also a hot shopping destination. Remerton community was created to serve the needs of workers at Strickland Cotton Mills and later incorporated as a textile mill town. Remerton Mill Village features mill houses that have been restored and converted into quaint local shops offering crafts, home furnishings, boutiques and consignments.

Southwest Georgia Cities

    Contact Us.